CURRENT ARCHIVE PROFILE DLAND


There's No Such Thing as a Free Dinner, Either

2006-12-17

I'm going over to my parents' for dinner today. Free meal and whatnot. I'm sure I'll be able to score some leftovers. I went directly to their house from work the day I was fired. My plan was to raid their pantry and fridge; stuff as much into my bag as I could, then head back to my apartment. My mom's boyfriend was unexpectedly home, though, so I decided to just drink Fresca and wait for someone to serve me dinner.

My mom started crying when I explained why I was there in the middle of a workday. I think she's convinced I'm going to be a loser like my brother. That's got to make her feel badly as a mother. I don't have a criminal record, at least.

Hm. It's back to the "at least" game, apparently. I may be unemployed and have alienated myself from all of my former coworkers and am now a pariah, but at least I'm not pregnant. At least I'm not a meth addict. At least I never took a shot at the Pope.

Oh yeah. It's all coming back to me now.

PREV : NEXT