CURRENT ARCHIVE PROFILE DLAND


We All Have Our Vices; I at Least Don't Make Money From Mine

2007-01-18

I was watching the "behind the scenes" footage on my Aqua Teen Hunger Force DVD's yesterday. If you've even seen the show, you know it's exactly the type of stuff that makes sense when you're high. Even so, it was disheartening to see one of the creators exhibiting the telltale sniffing of coke use.

In fact, it really pissed me off. Drug use in general, I am not overly critical of -- provided that you do it when and for reasons that are appropriate.

That's a wonderfully subjective way of looking at it, Megan.

Yes, it is. Thank you.

Maybe getting right blitzed is most appropriate for the people who make Aqua Teen Hunger Force (Look at the fucking name!), but why should that be okay? How can you believe it is okay to function like that? Yes, you're making money. Hooray, your altered state is more valuable than who you really are. Good on ya.

And don't even get me started on the breed of people who feel it's just plain cool. I had coworkers who showed up for their shift after having done a line of coke. They were badass, yo. "I don't like cocaine, I just like to smell it." HAHAHAHAHAHAHA. Why the hell did I worry about you whenever you missed work...

If, through your drug use, you delude yourself and/or the people around you long-term, then you're an asshole. And a loser. That's my stance.

And yes, I will continue to watch Aqua Teen Hunger Force. Because I find it funny. It's not as though it had some purity to it that has been tainted. It was originally spawned from prickitude. And so it shall continue.

I've been watching that show for days and now I really, really want a goddamn milk shake.

PREV : NEXT