CURRENT ARCHIVE PROFILE DLAND


This Side Up!

2007-03-18

Quite the day. At five this morning, I slipped getting out of the tub, plowed into my toilet, and broke it. I think the leak is where the tank connects to the base which would explain why the heavy leak continued even after I turned off the water and drained the tank (there was half an inch of water left in the tank that I couldn't remove).

And then I got to call my landlord and explain that I was a fatass who had just destroyed her toilet. And then the maintenance guy came and looked at it (literally looked at it; didn't touch it or anything, just looked) and said it's cracked and he won't be able to come back to "look at it again" until Wednesday.

So I and my two cats are at my parents' place. This is such a bummer. The spare bedroom still smells like my brother from his stay here in January. I feel creepy being on my mother's boyfriend's "work computer". I'm not accustomed to cleaning out caches, but the machine is right next to my wonderful single bed. I'm just a sucker.

To keep myself occupied (and to earn my free room and board as I feel like a loser imposing like this), I am transcribing a journal that belonged to my mother's boyfriend's grandfather. It's from 1932 and chronicles his trip from Canada to England to see his family. It's crazily interesting and is exactly the kind of crap that sells. The book itself is falling apart, so I'm writing it all out again and deciphering some of the illegible words. Then I'll type it up. The boyfriend wants copies of it emailed to the rest of the family. Which I'll do. Then I'll find a way to make money off of it.

I'll probably have to pay for a toilet in the near future.

PREV : NEXT