CURRENT ARCHIVE PROFILE DLAND


The Nature of Being Functional

2007-01-30

There. I did it. I had to make the BIOS acknowledge my SATA drive as being IDE instead of RAID, but I got the fucking OS installed.

And then I had no device-specific drivers. Shit.

So I found all of those. But I still had no sound. Shit.

Sound requires a generic driver not specific to a device (as in the brand), but not included with the OS. Grand.

So I got that and reinstalled other things and hooked up that and this and it's all pretty functional now. My sweet ass memory card reader is not being acknowledged by the system, but I don't care about that right now. Yes, the whole reason why I wanted this computer in the first place was for video editing and the video is transferred to my computer via a memory card, but eff it. Eff it sideways.

I am never buying a full computer. Too much goddamn hassle in changing anything. From now on, I am only buying parts and slapping it together myself. Yes, I would have to go through the same thing I just went through -- in fact, there would be more for me to do -- but I would at least know exactly what the hell is packed into the case. A lot of computer manufacturers are cryptic about the parts they use. They could be putting monkey genitals in there. Try finding a driver for that.

Well, it was a learning experience, at least. I'm using that phrase to qualify most of my activities these days. The novelty is wearing off.

Lately, too much has been about being merely satisfactory.

PREV : NEXT