CURRENT ARCHIVE PROFILE DLAND


The Name Game: One of Many I Play

2007-01-05

I got a kitten. Along with home hair-cuts, nothing says low-class sleaze like getting a pet while unemployed. And the cat had been nameless up until yesterday. I finally decided to just call it Steve. I had to give a name at the shelter so that it could be put on a neutering rebate. "Steve" is the default male name I come up with for any situation that requires one. It wasn't meant to be anything official. I did not intend to have a cat named Steve. His name was going to be something cool. Maybe something that indicated literacy or an over-devotion to Nintendo. But I can't think of anything else. So Steve is good enough.

If I wanted to augment my current state of scuzz, I would have named the cat after beer. Gob named his illegal pit bull after beer. That's just what you do.

I haven't spoken to Gob in ages. I haven't spoken to anyone from work in ages. I really screwed that up.

When I was fired, I thought, "Great! I don't have to trudge to work through snow and ice and fall on my ass in front of people!" But there is no snow this year.

I thought, "Great! Smart was leaving in January anyway! It's not as though this event will stunt our relationship prematurely!" But Smart is no longer going to school in January. In fact, he is doing more hours than ever.

I thought, "Great! I can finally get that kitten I've been wanting!" Which I did. So that's at least good.

I would upload a picture of Steve, but, having been spoiled by the built-in memory card reader on my new computer, I have misplaced the usb cable needed to connect my camera to my old computer (the hard drive died in the new one).

There's a weird equilibrium going on in the hard drive market right now. SATA and PATA drives are priced about the same, likely because SATA drives are gaining in popularity, but many people are still upgrading their older systems. It's weird. And not conducive to fixing my problem.

I'm looking into A+ certification. I'm not entirely sure of what it entails. I think it's intended for people with waaaaaaaay more computer experience than I have. Getting the study guide couldn't hurt, though. I'm smart. I reckon if I really, really, really wanted to get certified, I would figure it out.

If.

Steve is really pissing me off.

PREV : NEXT