CURRENT ARCHIVE PROFILE DLAND


Pretty Pictures

2006-12-08

I just took my first shower since being fired. I'm so glad I live alone.

I removed the video. The video of my workplace that got me fired. The video that violated confidentiality and was seen as disparagement. The video that has half of my former coworkers now calling for my blood because, as the higher-ups have chosen to summarize things, the video was just of me sitting there and bitching and calling people retards. Which isn't accurate. I used casual footage from our reality to highlight the ridiculous nature of society and the structures to which we subscribe. That's why I included the parking lot. That's why there were repeated shots of traffic. And, when speaking of my coworkers, the phrase I used was "border-line retarded". Because some of them are.

And that's the point. That is how society is structured. Those with money -- no matter how stupid, ignorant, cruel, or generally unpleasant they may be -- will always be catered to. It's the lower social classes that will be the ones doing that catering. We keep the upper-class the upper-class. Keeping the poor and uneducated down is just good for business.

The people from work whom I like and respect actually caught on to that message. The rest of them didn't. I think the rest of them just thought I was making fun of them for working at a call center. Even though that's where I worked for a year and now have no means of support. But they don't see that. They don't see that, before you can do anything else in life, you first have to make money and get along. That's it. That's the basis of all modern existence. Regardless of your true identity, your talents, your passions, your potential, your intelligence, you must first funnel that into a pre-existing capitalist structure in the way that is most appropriate. You make money and get along and then you can think about the bits of you that makes you a human being.

God forbid I draw their attention to that. Particularly without blatantly spelling it out.

Here's the new video.

PREV : NEXT