CURRENT ARCHIVE PROFILE DLAND


My Main Tool is a Hammer

2007-01-27

So while I have found many possible solutions to my problem, executing them has become an entirely new mess. Mostly because my new computer (Sweetmeat) does not have a damn 3.5" floppy drive. Any drivers that I find have to be saved to a 3.5" floppy and then somehow installed onto a computer with no such drive.

I cannot recall the last time I bought 3.5" floppies. I cannot even recall the last time I saw floppy diskettes. I would never knowingly keep them around out of snotty tech-pride.

Fucking hubris. Look where it has gotten me.

A few months ago, my parents brought over a number of large rubbermaid containers filled with my belongings which had been stored in a facility out in the valley. They were stashed there because I had no use for anything in said containers and having them brought to my little apartment for no goddamn reason pissed me right the fuck off; however, one container came in handy this evening as I was able to salvage three diskettes from it. All of them are at least 8 years old. Fucking Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck are on them.

My old computer (SID) has a floppy drive. So, what I've been doing is using SID (who is functional) to find drivers online (I still can�t find any for my specific motherboard). I then save those drivers to a diskette using SID's floppy drive. SID is then totally disconnected from everything, cracked open, and his floppy drive is removed. Then I open up Sweetmeat, install the floppy drive, connect Sweetmeat up to everything, and attempt to install the driver off the diskette. If it doesn't work, I disconnect Sweetmeat, rip out the floppy drive, put it back into SID, hook SID back up, and start the search again.

I fingers hurt like a bitch.

I should just pirate Vista. I�m assuming it supports SATA drives. I should just take it. Take it like a whore.

PREV : NEXT