CURRENT ARCHIVE PROFILE DLAND


Level 60 Fat-Ass

2007-02-04

I believe my descent is complete. I got fired, then I decided to get a kitten even though I'm unemployed, then I decided to give myself a home hair-cut by shaving my entire head with a Bic razor, and now I have become hooked on World of Warcraft. I think this is it. Lord, I hope this is it.

That's not my good armour. That's my "about town" outfit. I keep my good armour (which I made myself with my leatherworking skill) in a blue 6-slot bag. Less unnecessary damage that way.

Sigh.

I've been noticing some things about MMORPGs. Specifically, how "n00b" is the ultimate insult. MMORPGs seem to be the only true meritocracies in existence. You get where you are by earning it. You fought those monsters. You did those quests. You learned those skills. And you know how to carry your achievements. You deserve what you have because you understand the game and you understand the culture within the game. Calling someone a "n00b" is an attack on their abilities -- on their skills and understanding. The knowledge you hold about the game is the basis of your existence within that world. Being considered a n00b nullifies all of that.

Critically thinking about the game within a social context makes my recent 12-hour sessions okay.

PREV : NEXT