CURRENT ARCHIVE PROFILE DLAND


Human Capital

2006-11-09

I must stop getting fucked up. I will actively avoid that for the next little while. It's not a particularly constructive outlet. It's fun and it has helped further my relationships with my coworkers who are now my friends, but, more and more, I'm finding that I am totally bummed out afterwards. And I have no one with whom to share that experience because all of our socializing is built on chemicals. God forbid we be around each other while sober.

Though, technically, I'm never sober. But they don't know that.

There's a new call center in town which I shall dub Venture/Systems (V/SYS). They pay more than Comcourse and their benefits don't suck. Comcourse is doing its damnedest to dote on the agents it currently employees, giving a pay raise (that still does not match the other place), increasing what our benefits cover, and forcing a facade of false positivity. They're failing at this.

Regardless of Comcourse's efforts, the campaigns at V/SYS require actual intelligence and that is a huge draw for many. V/SYS is largely inbound tech support. The calls I receive at Comcourse consist of, "Why do I have to pay tax if I'm buying online?" and "Where do I put this here coupon?" Working someplace where the border-line retarded cannot would be quite the ego-boost.

But I would be on the phones at V/SYS. I currently sit on my ass and correct hundreds of pieces of documentation submitted by my border-line retarded coworkers. And that is better than having to take calls from irates eight hours a day.

On the other hand, Gob just got a job at V/SYS. So hmmm.

It's weird to have choice, suddenly. We work in a call center; our alternatives in life are generally limited. Now there's a battle going on for our souls and we can actually choose which company will exploit us. Pretty neat.

PREV : NEXT