CURRENT ARCHIVE PROFILE DLAND


Elephant

2007-05-10

Where have I been? Ha, where haven't I been!

Seriously, though. I've just been sitting around my increasingly hot apartment.

I finished my week-long job. I completed the task for which I was hired in two days, but managed to sit around for another one and a half just to get paid. I couldn't stand dragging it out to a fifth day (or even all of the forth) so I reported to my supervisor and was liberated 30 hours early.

My goal is to work just enough so that I don't have to find a full-time job until the fall. I really hate warm weather and I don't intend to struggle through acclimating to a new workplace in the midst of a heatwave. I put a lot of effort into planning my unemployment. If I put the same effort into employment, I would have a job now and probably would have been promoted.

As for my previous full-time job -- the one from which I was fired because of a video I put on YouTube depicting my work environment and the irony of a consumer-driven culture -- it will soon be no more. The campaign on which I worked is pulling out of town. The remaining employees will have the choice of being transferred to another campaign or they can go on sweet sweet unemployment. Lucky bastards.

Though I am glad I didn't stick it out long enough to see this day. I think I would be devastated by it -- my entire society being uprooted in such a way. At least, with my solo departure, I knew where to find everyone else.

Smart is a little frazzled, though. He texted me with the news, asked me to meet him for "a beer and a chat". Craziness. Everything connects back to itself.

PREV : NEXT