CURRENT ARCHIVE PROFILE DLAND


Driven to Distraction Because it's Too Far to Walk

2006-12-30

What? "No new messages"? "Zero missed calls"? Holy shit! That's -- that's -- that's crazy.

I get one HD channel. It's a PBS station. It shows Boohbah in widescreen. My cat and I sat through the whole thing yesterday. I've always felt the show was absolute brain-rot (yet eerily transfixing, which is why I watch it), but any program that can hold a cat's attention for almost thirty goddamn minutes is evil and should not be plied on children.

Boohbah in HD is fucking awesome, though. I swear that the heads of those things are supposed to be penises. And then they all link arms in a circle and some kind of effect gushes from the tips of each of their heads. Seriously. Shit's going on there.

I've been more creative and interested in things since being fired and I am of course using this revelation to justify remaining unemployed for a while longer. Technically, the mature thing to do in this situation would be to use the information I have gathered about myself during this time to successfully balance both work and personal pursuits so that I can be a productive member of society while maintaining a fully developed identity separate from my job. But I won't do that. Maybe later.

I had Christmas brunch at my aunt's yesterday. It was supposed to be on the 24th, but my brother decided to OD on whatever pills he could find and my parents were in Alberta with him for the bulk of their Christmas vacation.

Point being, during brunch, I learned that my mother's coworker (who happens to be the daughter of the elderly couple who lived next to my grandparents for 70 years) was going to call me on Christmas and invite me to her parents' place for dinner. Which is incredibly sweet, but really now. What the fuck. I've never met any of these people. Imagine your Christmas dinner and imagine one of your relatives bringing along the daughter of a random coworker because her parents are in another time zone with her brother after his suicide attempt. Now try to comment on the moistness of the turkey.

She didn't call, though. She didn't have my number. I'm unlisted. Which explains why no one called me for days. Now I don't feel as badly about it.

I miss Smart. Smart was a coworker. He's kind and funny, doesn't take himself too seriously, is very intelligent, and treats me like I'm cool or something or like I know what the hell is going on most of the time. I feel like a normal person when we hang out. I haven't seen him in a couple of weeks. That's my one regret about being fired. The only time I wish I was still employed at the call center occurs when thinking about the people I no longer get to see. I miss them dearly. All of them. But particularly Smart.

I should have taken some free food from my aunt's. That would fill the void.

PREV : NEXT