CURRENT ARCHIVE PROFILE DLAND


Damn You, Everyone Else! Be Perfect Like Me!

2007-01-26

It's impossible to get a vaguely intelligent question answered on microsoft's website.

My question: Will Vista come with SATA drivers?

microsoft's answer: Vista is so awesome. It is so new and great. You'll love it because you'll be able to do stuff with it -- really cool stuff. It's all new and you'll love how great it is. Prepare for the awesomeness.

Fuck, I hate you. And I hate the morons that keep you in business.

Yes, I am one of those morons. I actually bought Windows XP Professional. Mind you, I bought it through someone who works at the local college and so I only paid $12 for it, but still. I feel a little ashamed.

It turns out that XP does not come with SATA drivers. So, if you are trying to install XP on a clean SATA drive, the computer will not recognize the drive. This is not a particularly big deal. All one has to do is determine their motherboard model and then download the drivers from the applicable website. Pie.

But I have the elusive Asus P5LP-LE motherboard for which I can find no goddamn support. User forums indicate that there are simply none to be found and that my best bet is to neuter my SATA drive by fiddling with the BIOS. Which I will try. It's all reversible and the main hassle is swapping my one monitor between my two computers. This means I have to compile information on the problem, disconnect the monitor from my functional computer, attach it to the dysfunctional computer, and then attempt the fixes from my notes. I can't research and fiddle at the same time.

So, to save some aggravation and to maintain the manliness of my drive (and to see if I can be half-assed about the whole thing for the time being), I decided to check out if Vista has SATA support. And, being logical, I decided to check out the website of the company who makes and distributes Vista. All I have learned is that Vista is apparently great and magical and smells like Twinkies. I can't fucking wait.

I�m not totally pissed. I like these sorts of problems -- the sorts of problems that aren�t my fault. I was frustrated as hell when that motherfucking blue screen of death popped up during installation of XP Pro. (The entire installation process is white text on a blue screen anyway, so the blue screen of death in this scenario was given a slightly different hue. That way you would, you know, get a goddamn clue.) I figured I had installed the hard drive wrong. I was using the wrong setup disc . I fucked something up with the BIOS. I had done something wrong. But no. It's just crappiness unrelated to myself. And that is the only kind of crappiness for which I have the patience to investigate.

Also, today I ate at a restaurant that had a sign that said, "OPEN EVERYDAY". Which was bad enough, but then, just underneathe that, was, "Except Sunday and Monday".

All right then. Back I go.

PREV : NEXT