CURRENT ARCHIVE PROFILE DLAND


Big Jim and Steve

2007-01-06

So I'll go for A+ certification. I've decided.

A+ certification is generally recognized in the IT industry as the equivalent of having 6 months of hands-on experience. Given my lack of knowledge, there is no way I can go out right now and find someone willing to train me and keep me in their employ for six months. So I'll just study up on my own, pass a couple of exams, and then be somewhat set for an entry level IT position.

This will not guarantee me a job, of course. I don't expect to find work immediately. I don't expect the work I do find to pay well. I will basically be qualified to putter around the back room of Future Shop or Big Jim's Electronics. But, the point is, A+ certification is better than what I currently have. Which is nothing.

I've been looking for other online certification courses. Preferably, things that really have no purpose for someone like me. I found a WHMIS course that I'll take at some point. I can't think of when I would ever come in contact with particularly hazardous materials, but it would be swell to have a card that said I could handle it.

I feel vaguely better about things. I no longer feel as though I�m just sitting around on an impromptu (but very much welcomed) vacation. Now I�m sitting around waiting for some books and study guides to arrive. World of difference.

Here's Steve and my left boob:

PREV : NEXT